First Dental Visit
X-ray
Special Needs Patients
General Treatment
Habit Correctors
Custom Fitted Mouth Guards
Care of Mouth After Extraction
Pediatric Dentistry FAQ
Pediatric Emergencies
 
Mon、Tue、Wed、 Fri
2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sat  1:00pm - 6:00pm
( Service is unavailable on Thu, Sun )
 
Children's dentistry
    Custom Fitted Mouth Guard

Custom Fitted Mouth Guard

Facial Protection from our Doctor

Why are Mouth Guards Important?
Properly designed and custom fabricated mouth guards are an important, but often overlooked aspect of preventive pediatric dentistry. Dental injuries are the most common type of orafacial injury sustained during sports participation. The National Youth Sports Foundation for the Prevention of Athletic Injuries, Inc. reports several interesting statistics:
Victims of total tooth avulsions (knocked out teeth) may face lifetime dental costs of USD $10,000-USD $15,000 per tooth, hours in the dentist’s chair, and the possible development of other dental problems such as bone loss.
The American Dental Association estimates that mouth guards prevent approximately 200,000 injuries each year in high school and collegiate football alone.

What will my Mouth Guard Look Like?
Unfortunately, mouth guards conjure up images of an uncomfortable piece of plastic purchased from a sporting goods store. That’s because these “Stock” or “Boil and Bite” types of mouth guards constitute 90% of all mouth guards being worn today. They are ineffective since then fit poorly, are too thin to offer protection and can make breathing and speaking difficult. Stock mouth guards that must be held in place by constantly biting down in limited sizes and are often altered by the wearer for a more comfortable fit, which further reduce the protective properties of the mouth guard. They also come in fun colors!

As pediatric dentists interested in injury prevention, we do not recommend this type of mouth guard to our patients. To be effective, a mouth guard has to be protective, comfortable, allow for easy speaking and breathing, have an excellent fit and sufficient thickness in critical areas. Here at Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic our doctor can create custom fitted mouth guards designed and fabricated to meet all of these criteria.

Common Questions about Mouth Guards
Custom fitted mouth guards allow us to address several important issues in fitting the mouth guard. For example:
Does the mouth guard take into consideration missing, loose or erupting teeth?
What about orthodontic considerations?
Is there a history of dental trauma and areas that need additional protection?

These are important questions the sporting goods store retailer and the boil & bite type of mouth guards do not address.

How do we make your Custom Fitted Mouth Guard?
We offer out patients the highest quality pediatric & orthodontic services and that quality translates into the care we take to create your custom fitted mouth guard. Using an impression taken by our doctor, our custom fitted mouth guards are made of a heated thermoplastic material that is adapted over a stone model with a special vacuum. The material is then trimmed and polished for an ideal fit. This technique allows for our doctor to control the size, thickness and form of the mouth guard for the patient.

Take the First Step Toward your Custom Fitted Mouth Guard!

When children learn to wear mouth guards at an early age they become an integral part of their sports regimen. Custom mouth guards can help children keep their teeth for a lifetime and are an important part of pediatric dentistry. We encourage you to visit our office to have one made for your child.

The first appointment takes around 30 minutes and the cost is less than a piece of sporting equipment. You may call our office to schedule.

 

 
 
In case you were interested
Education
Post Graduate Education and Training
Advanced Orthodontic Continuing Education Training
Position Held
Position Held Now
Member
Awards
Personal
Presentation, publishing papers & advanced training
The orthodontic meetings presided
 
 
 
     
 
AboutChildren's dentistryOrthodonticsCaseReservationContributionContactLinks
Copyright © 2008, © 2016 Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic All Rights Reserved.
4F, No. 39, Tianmou West Road Shih-Lin District,Taipei City 11156 Taiwan, R.O.C. 
TEL:(02) 2873-3272 (02) 2873-6248 / FAX:(02) 2871-4612
E-mail: yencharn@ms46.hinet.net
Visitors: www.dr-tony.com.tw

兒童第一次看診
X 光照射
特殊需求的患者
一般兒童牙科治療
藥物鎮靜兒童牙科治療
手術室兒童牙科治療
口腔不良習僻矯正裝置
客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置
拔牙後護理需知
兒童牙科答客問
兒童牙科急診
 

星期一、二、三、五
2:00pm - 9:00pm
星期六 1:00pm - 6:00pm

(星期四、日休診)
 
Children's dentistry
    客 / 製 / 化 / 口 / 腔 / 護 / 木 / 運 / 動 / 保 / 護 / 裝 / 置

客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置 Custom Fitted Mouth Guards

從我們醫師處得到的顏面保護

為何客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置是如此的重要?
良好設計及客制化口腔護木運動保護裝置在預防兒童牙醫學是非常重要而卻又往往被忽略的一個項目。在運動過程導致口腔顏面傷害中, 牙齒的受傷是最常見的項目之一。美國全國青少年運動基金會 (The National Youth Sports Foundation for the Prevention of Athletic Injuries, Inc.) 提供一些統計資料如下可供參考:
在美國牙齒因運動受傷而喪失者, 將面對一生牙科醫療費用約美金USD $10,000-USD $15,000/每一顆牙齒。而更不用說這一生將花費多少的寶貴時間於牙醫診所; 以及因牙齒喪失而隨之併發的齒槽骨喪失及顏面外觀的影響。
美國牙醫學會估計口腔護木運動保護裝置可以每年對高中及大學的運動損傷減少 200,000 傷害。

我的客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置將是個什麼樣子?
非常不幸的是從一般運動商店所能購置的口腔護木運動保護裝置乃是不舒適的塑膠物質。這類的 “庫存量販式” 或是 “加熱及咬住” 類的口腔護木運動保護裝置約佔了90%的市場。但是因為這類口腔護木戴上時與牙齒並不密合而且厚度不足無法提供足夠的保護並且不易呼吸及說話, 故而乃是不合適於真正的需求。一般市場販售的口腔護木必須持續的咬著方可定位於口內(這一點是非常累人的), 且其大小有限。且戴者為了舒適往往會改變位置, 如此則更減低了口腔護木對牙齒的保護作用。

作為醫師的我們非常關注傷害的預防, 我們並不推薦市場販售式的口腔護木運動保護裝置與我們的患者。為了有效, 一個好的客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置必須具備保護功能, 舒適, 能夠易於說話及呼吸;極佳的密合於牙齒及足夠的厚度於關鍵區域。在這兒我們專業的醫師能夠於特殊的咬合器上製造出客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置合乎以上的需求。

對於口腔護木運動保護裝置常見的問題
客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置使得我們可以針對某些特別重點予以特別注意。例如:
任何的客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置皆會注意及失去的, 搖動的或是即將萌發的牙齒
也會考慮到患者齒顎矯正的需求傷害。
會考慮到患者是否曾有過牙齒受外傷的醫療史, 以及 是否需要額外的保護?

以上所述對患者而言皆是重要的, 但是一般運動商店所能購置的口腔護木運動保護裝置卻無法注意及此。

我們如何製作您的客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置
我們永遠提供我們患者最高品質的齒顎矯正與兒童牙科醫療服務。據此我們亦將同樣製作最好的客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置予我們患者。首先我們會對患者取模而後製作超硬石膏模型。再將模型經由面弓轉移至咬合器。我們使用特殊的透明熱塑性耐磨塑膠材質, 在4個大氣壓力的狀態之下予以塑形於患者的超硬石膏模型上。而後再將客制化口腔護木運動保護裝置予以拋光。這種製作方式使我們醫師得以控制客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置的大小, 厚度, 形態;最終使得患者得以舒適的全力參與運動競賽。

請踏出第一開始考慮您的客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置!

當兒童從很小的時侯即開始練習戴用口腔護木運動保護裝置, 則該裝置即會變成他運動的一部份。客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置即會一輩子的保護您心愛孩子的牙齒。我們豉勵您及您的孩子拜訪我們診所, 而為您的孩子製作一副客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置。

第一次約診需時約30分鐘且其花費往住少於一件昂貴的運動裝置。敬請您與我們診所聯絡! 謝謝!

 

 
 
醫師簡介
演講摘要暨進階研修
大學教育背景
研究所教育暨專業養成訓練背景
齒顎矯正學高階繼續再教育訓練
經歷
現職
學會、公會之會員資歷
優良得獎
個人資訊
嚴永強醫師主持齒顎矯正會議紀實
 
 
 
     
 
自我介紹兒童牙科齒顎矯正科案例參考對矯正界的貢獻與我們聯絡其他相關網站
版權所有 © 2008, © 2016 Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic All Rights Reserved.
台北市士林區天母西路 39 號 4 樓    TEL:(02) 2873-3272 (02) 2873-6248 / FAX:(02) 2871-4612
E-mail: yencharn@ms46.hinet.net
瀏覽人數: www.dr-tony.com.tw