First Dental Visit
X-ray
Special Needs Patients
General Treatment
Habit Correctors
Custom Fitted Mouth Guards
Care of Mouth After Extraction
Pediatric Dentistry FAQ
Pediatric Emergencies
 
Mon、Tue、Wed、 Fri
2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sat  1:00pm - 6:00pm
( Service is unavailable on Thu, Sun )
 
Children's dentistry
    Pediatric Emergencies

Pediatric Emergencies

Advice from our Doctor

We are here to help you in case of a dental emergency. We understand how frightening a dental emergency can be, no matter how big or small, Our doctor and the team are here in case of any incident involving your child’s teeth and mouth, and are sure to provide care in the safest and most comforting way.

Emergency Care at Home

While some dental emergencies require immediate attention from a professional, there are many incidents or situations that can be cared for at home first. In other cases, there are thing that you can do before coming to the dentist’s office to help ease the situation. If your child experiences any of the following emergencies at home or on the playing field, please read about what you can do as a parent to help the situation first.

Broken Tooth

Rinse dirt from injured area with warm water. Place cold compresses over the face in the area of the injury. Locate and save any broken tooth fragments. Immediate dental attention may be necessary.
If the tooth is sensitive or sharp, you can go to a pharmacy and get dental wax or temporary dental cement to cover the area. Make sure you have no allergies to any of the ingredients.

Pain

Over the counter anti-inflammatory medications such as Advil, Aleve, Nuprin can take the edge off until you get definitive treatment. Make sure you have no allergies or medical contra-indications to any of the ingredients.

Swelling

Rinse as frequently as possible with salt water as hot as you can tolerate. DO NOT put heat on your face as this can make things worse.

Toothache

Clean the area around the sore tooth thoroughly. Rinse the mouth vigorously with warm salt water or use dental floss to dislodge trapped food or debris. DO NOT place aspirin on the gum or on the aching tooth. If face is swollen, apply a cold compress. Give Acetaminophen for pain and contact us as soon as possible.

Cut or Bitten Tongue, Lip or Cheek

Apply ice on bruised areas. If there is bleeding, apply firm but gentle pressure with a clean gauze or cloth. If bleeding does not stop after 15 minutes or it cannot be controlled by simple pressure, take the child to a hospital emergency room.

Knocked – Out Permanent tooth

Find the tooth. Handle the tooth ONLY by the crown (top), NOT the root portion. You may rinse the tooth but DO NOT clean or handle the tooth unnecessarily. Try to reinsert it in its socket. Have the child hold the tooth in place by biting on a clean gauze or cloth. If you cannot reinsert the tooth, transport the tooth in a cup containing milk or water. Contact Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic as IMMEDIATELY as possible! Time is a critical factor in saving the tooth!

Possible Broken Jaw

If a fractured jaw is suspected, try to keep the jaws from moving by using a towel, handkerchief or tie, then take the child to the nearest hospital emergency room.

Bleeding After Baby Tooth Falls Out

Fold and pack a clean gauze or cloth over the bleeding area. Have the child bite on the gauze with pressure for 15 minutes. This may be repeated once or twice; if extensive bleeding persists, contact Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic.

Cold/Canker Sores

Many children occasionally suffer from these sores. Usually over-the-counter preparations give relief. Because some serious diseases begin as sores, it is important to contact Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic for an evaluation if these sores persist.

Contact Our Dental Office

If you have any questions about how to care for your child after a dental emergency, or if your child has experienced a serious one, please give our office a call Dental emergencies are rare but they do happen, and when they do, Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic is here to help you!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Continue reading: Orthodontic Emergencies  / Care of Mouth After Extraction

 

 
 
In case you were interested
Education
Post Graduate Education and Training
Advanced Orthodontic Continuing Education Training
Position Held
Position Held Now
Member
Awards
Personal
Presentation, publishing papers & advanced training
The orthodontic meetings presided
 
 
 
     
 
AboutChildren's dentistryOrthodonticsCaseReservationContributionContactLinks
Copyright © 2008, © 2016 Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic All Rights Reserved.
4F, No. 39, Tianmou West Road Shih-Lin District,Taipei City 11156 Taiwan, R.O.C. 
TEL:(02) 2873-3272 (02) 2873-6248 / FAX:(02) 2871-4612
E-mail: yencharn@ms46.hinet.net
Visitors: www.dr-tony.com.tw

兒童第一次看診
X 光照射
特殊需求的患者
一般兒童牙科治療
藥物鎮靜兒童牙科治療
手術室兒童牙科治療
口腔不良習僻矯正裝置
客製化口腔護木運動保護裝置
拔牙後護理需知
兒童牙科答客問
兒童牙科急診
 

星期一、二、三、五
2:00pm - 9:00pm
星期六 1:00pm - 6:00pm

(星期四、日休診)
 
Children's dentistry
    兒 / 童 / 牙 / 科 / 急 / 診

兒童牙科急診 Pediatric Emergencies

我們診所醫師的建議

假如有急診的狀況發生時, 我們都會與您同在並幫助您的小孩。 我們瞭解得到兒童牙科的急診有時是令人驚恐萬分的。無論是多大與多小的急診, 只要牽涉到您小孩的牙齒與口腔;我們的醫師與團隊成員皆會在這兒提供安全與舒適的醫療。

居家緊急處理

有些兒童牙科急診立即需要專業醫護人員處理, 但是也有許多狀況可以首先在家中做出居家緊急處理。另有一些狀況, 您可以在來到本診所前先在家中做一些緊急處置以緩和情況。假如您的小孩在家或是遊樂場地發生下述各種緊急狀況, 敬請做為父母的您先閱讀下述資料以便瞭解你能做的範圍進而緩解情勢。

牙齒斷裂

請用溫水(或生理食鹽水) 將受傷區域的泥土清洗掉。請將臉部受傷區域使用冷敷(或是冰敷)。請盡量努力去尋找斷裂部份的牙齒並設法保存下來。最好是能立即找到牙醫師予以緊急處理。

假如此時口內剩餘的牙齒對冷熱非常敏感或是殘餘的牙齒非常銳利, 則可想辦法於西藥店購得軟臘或是無糖口香糖予以蓋住銳利部份。唯需注意的乃是請確定您小孩的身體對這些物質不會起過敏作用。

疼痛

不需要醫師處方的止痛藥, 例如 Advil , Acetaminophen 可以先緩解您小孩受傷部位的疼痛; 但是請盡快與我們聯絡以解決您小孩的問題。但是在服藥前, 請確認您小孩對這些藥物的成份不會過敏。

腫脹

牙齦有腫脹時請用溫熱的鹽水經常口內漱口。在腫脹原因未明之前, 請勿使用熱敷於臉部以免情勢惡化。

牙痛

將疼痛牙齒的周圍盡量清理乾淨。使用溫的鹽水口內大力的漱口或是使用牙線將深陷於牙縫的食物殘渣清出。請勿將 “aspirin” 類的止痛藥塗抹於牙肉周邊或牙齒上。假如臉部已經腫脹, 請使用冷敷。請服用 Ibuprofen 或是 Acetaminophen 用以解痛並請盡速與我衍們聯絡。

割或咬傷舌頭, 嘴唇/頰側黏膜

請將冰袋敷於淤青腫脹區域。假如有流血的狀況發生, 建議使用清潔乾淨的紗布(或是衣服)並用手指施以穩定溫和的力量於出血處。假若出血未能於15分鐘內止住或是無法用壓力止血, 則請立刻帶小孩前往醫院急診做進一步處理。

永久齒創傷性脫落

請盡量找到脫落的牙齒。用手指僅能抓住牙冠部份(頂端), 而非牙根部份。您可以用生理食鹽水清洗脫落的牙齒, 但是切勿過度清潔處理牙齒;尤其是請勿傷害到牙根周圍的牙周軟組織。盡量試著將脫落的牙齒放回原來的牙窩。爾後再用乾淨的小塊紗布或衣服置於牙冠上, 此時再請您的小孩輕輕咬住。假如您無法將脫落的牙齒放回原來的牙窩, 則請將牙齒放入內含牛奶或自來水的小杯。然後請立刻與我們診所聯絡。在保存牙齒這一件事上, 時間是非常重要的因素。

顎骨疑似斷裂

假如有顎骨疑似斷裂的狀況, 則請用毛巾, 手帕或領帶將顎骨固定避免移動; 再將小孩帶往附近的醫院急診部門。

乳牙脫落後持續流血

用乾淨的小塊紗布或衣服置於出血的牙窩位置上, 再令小孩將紗布咬住約15分鐘。這樣的方式可以重複一至二次。假如從牙窩仍然有持續性大量出血, 則請立即聯絡我們診所。

口腔潰瘍

甚多小孩偶而發生口腔潰瘍. 一般性的非處方用藥口內軟膏皆可緩解症狀。但是由於有些嚴重性疾病開始初期症侯也是口腔潰瘍, 故而假如口腔潰瘍持續久而不癒;則請聯絡我們做進一步檢查。

敬請與我們診所聯絡

在您小孩的牙科急診之後假如您對如何照顧您的小孩仍有疑惑, 或是您的小孩仍有嚴重的狀況;請來電我們診所 (02-28733272, 02-28736248) 。牙科急診較少見但是確實有時仍會發生, 當發生時, 我們診所永遠在此幫助您及您的小孩!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
繼續閱讀: 齒顎矯正治療的急診處置 / 拔牙後口腔護理需知
 
 
醫師簡介
演講摘要暨進階研修
大學教育背景
研究所教育暨專業養成訓練背景
齒顎矯正學高階繼續再教育訓練
經歷
現職
學會、公會之會員資歷
優良得獎
個人資訊
嚴永強醫師主持齒顎矯正會議紀實
 
 
 
     
 
自我介紹兒童牙科齒顎矯正科案例參考對矯正界的貢獻與我們聯絡其他相關網站
版權所有 © 2008, © 2016 Pittsburgh Orthodontic Clinic All Rights Reserved.
台北市士林區天母西路 39 號 4 樓    TEL:(02) 2873-3272 (02) 2873-6248 / FAX:(02) 2871-4612
E-mail: yencharn@ms46.hinet.net
瀏覽人數: www.dr-tony.com.tw